The Beast in Us by D.S. Wrights

The Beast In Us (The Beast And Me #3)The Beast In Us by D.S. Wrights

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

So there I was staring at the cover for the third installment of ‘The Beast and Me’ series with feelings of both dread and hope. Because of the way the previous book ended, I had reason to believe this book would be much better, but I’d not yet recovered from my disappointment over the second. As a precaution I skipped the coziness of my bed and instead curled up on the sofa in jeans and a t-shirt with a jealous Miss Marble kitty on my lap rubbing her face against the edge of my phone.

With the opening line I was immediately whisked back to the same feeling of excitement I experienced in the first book, and that feeling only increased as I kept reading. A third of the way through I realized I may just like this one better than the first, so I stood up and made my way to my bedroom, reading as I walked. I turned on my lamp, kicked off my jeans, and tucked myself under the covers. I desperately needed a bottle of water, but I was too engrossed to move a second time!

Meg becomes amazing in this part of the story. Her change in personality and what I felt was the almost certain outcome of her situation made me unable to put this book down. It was every bit as exciting as the first book for an entirely different reason. This author knows her character, and you feel every bit of her emotion and expectation. The ending is dramatic, and I can’t decide if liked it. Perhaps it just couldn’t play out in any other way. I’ll be interested in finding out where she takes the story from this point. I have my suspicions. Since there is a resolution to the immediate danger, I do not consider this ending a cliffhanger, but there are some unresolved issues, and I will definitely be reading the next book!

Leave a Reply

