Stealing the Light by Lisa Hofmann

Stealing the Light: A Medieval FantasyStealing the Light: A Medieval Fantasy by Lisa Hofmann

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Considering the impression I received of this book, I decide to start reading it early in the morning ā€“ 5:45am to be precise, when the sun just starts to light the sky, and there is often at least a light fog covering the ground. I hoped that would be true on this morning, and I wasn’t disappointed! I take my heavily creamed coffee onto the back patio and fondle the real book in my hand. Reading is a much more profound and personal experience with an actual book (even if you get a cramp in your fingers or a crick in your neck)!

The cover is blue and white and depicts an archway partially covered with overgrown flowers and a dove in flight (I think it’s a dove anyway). Light is streaming through the arch and highlights a stone floor. I love the font. It looks familiar, but I don’t remember what it’s called. I open the book and smell the pages. There is nothing more wonderful than the smell of fresh paper! Every book has its own unique scent. This one smells like a minty forest, which seemed appropriate, and made me crave a Peppermint Patty! The pages are stark white and very smooth. It’s a beautiful book.

I turn to the first page and begin to read. At first the language of the story seems a bit… well cheesy. It didn’t take more than a few pages, however, to recognize the quality of writing being presented to the reader. All thoughts of cheesy evaporate like an open bottle of rubbing alcohol. No cheese here! Just a superbly told story. I fell straight into the beautiful, melancholy, tragic, hopeful, and complex world being painted so marvelously with such detailed settings, I could immediately draw them in my mind. The characters are so carefully developed, I felt I knew them as well as the author did, and I could imagine what all their reactions and thoughts might be.

The most impressive thing about this book in my opinion, is the author’s ability to relate all these involved and wonderful images and moods and characters and plot, that seem very flowering and detailed, with language I found so beautiful and so well written…. in only 414 pages… and English isn’t even her first language! The editing in this book is also excellent. I don’t think there was a single mistake in punctuation, grammar, or spelling in the entire volume. It has everything I love in a book, and I am really looking forward to the rest of this series!

Fairyflies: a short storyFairyflies: a short story by Lisa Hofmann

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The author offers us a basic introduction to the world you read about in Stealing The Light as well as a small insight into one of the characters in her book, so you may want to read this, if you plan to read it or already have, but it isn’t necessary. It’s well written and paints a clear picture of the character’s thoughts, experience, and the surroundings in which he finds himself. Though it did pique my interest, I didn’t fall in love with it like I did the book.

Leave a Reply

